2021 International Women's Day for Women of African Descent Virtual Conference

Promoting Women of African Descent

Fartun Weli

Fartun Weli, MPH, MAPP
Founder & Executive Director, Isuroon

Judge LaJune

Judge LaJune Thomas Lange (ret.)
Fourth Judicial District Court, Minnesota
Honorary Consul of South Africa in Minnesota
President, International Leadership Institute

Kelis Houston

Kellis Houston
Founder, Village Arms

Marisol Chiclana-Ayala, MPA

Marisol Chiclana-Ayala, MPA
Deputy Director, Minnesota Department of Health COVID-19 Response
Adjunct Professor, St. Catherine University
Personal/Global Consultant, LLC

Sonia Davila-Williams headshot

Sonja Davila-Williams, MSW, LISW
Associate Professor
Chair, Social Work Department,
Metropolitan State University

PH_DO_Antonia Wilcoxon (2)

Antonia Wilcoxon, Ed.D.
Principal Consultant, Equity Strategies, LLC

Version of square logo 1

Chrissy Mignogna

Leslie-Wright (1)

Leslie Wright
Vice President, Development & Alumni Relations,
Mitchell Hamline School of Law

Mary Turner

Mary Turner, RN
Member of the Biden-Harris COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force
President, Minnesota Nurses Association
Board Chair, Isuroon

Fayine Hussen Wako
Executive Director, National Council of Oromo Women
President, Sikko Mando Women in Minnesota
Women’s Program Director and Outreach Coordinator, Ten Thousand Lakes Foundation
Lia Roberts photo

Lia Roberts, DNP, PHN, RN
Emergency Preparedness Program Coordinator,
Dakota County Public Health

Dawn Picture

Dawn Bennett
Founder, Touch Remedies

Ramla Elmi

Ramla Elmi
Refugee Savings Program Coordinator, Isuroon

Version of square logo 1

Hanan Adam, LGSW
Social Worker, Isuroon

Version of square logo 1

Elizabeth Ruskin, LICSW
Co-clinical Director, Isuroon

Sadie's Picture

Sadie Clark
Social Work Intern, Isuroon

Elizabeth Fromholz

Elizabeth Fromholz
Social Work Intern, Isuroon

Nasra Suileman

Nasra Suleiman, LSW
Social Services Coordinator

Michael Luseni

Michael Luseni, M.Ed.
Principal, Heritage Academy

Nasra Hasen

Nasra Hasen
Community and School Liaison, Isuroon

Michael Birchard

Michael Birchard
Associate Vice President of Equity & Inclusion,
Inver Hills Community College
Dakota County Technical College


Sheila Nezhad
City Policy Organizer, Reclaim the Block